5.7 Hemi Firing Order Diagram and Explanation

Whether you’ve owned a muscle car or a family sedan, you’ve likely tried to figure out how things work by studying the wiring diagram. Or you may need the engine blocks cylinder number to fix any engine issue.

Nowadays, you can find diagrams on the internet, but they’re often poorly laid out and don’t really tell you much about what’s going on inside.

And that’s where I come in to solve your concern. Looking for the 5.7L Hemi engine firing order? 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2 is the 5.7 Hemi firing order. But this is not enough, and you know it.

That’s why I have put together an infographic and detailed explanation just for you. So, just read along and discover what has been unknown for you so long.

5.7 Hemi Firing Order Diagram & Explanation

Basically, firing order is a sequence in which each cylinder of engine blocks gets spark from the spark plug for ignition start. Different engines have different firing order based on engine sizes. 5.7 Hemi engine is the modern 8 cylinder V-shaped engine. And so it also has a firing order that it strictly maintains to ignite the engine.

You may wish to know how much horsepower can a 5.7 Hemi handle and how much is allowed to modify.

Anyway,Today’s article is just a real quick one. The image below shos the firing order along with the 5.7 Hemi cylinder numbers. This goes from much of from the 2009 5.7 Hemi firing order & up. This is also applicable for 2008 and previous myear models. Like you can use this diagram for the 2007 5.7 Hemi firing order.

5.7 Hemi Firing Order

As we mentioned 1-8-4-3-6-5-7-2 is the 5.7 Hemi engine firing order sequence. In this cylinder number order, the cylinders get spark resulting the engine ignition.

While finding the 5.7 cylinder number to the right side of the bank, meaning the passenger side starting by the alternator is 2, 4, 6, 8 on bank 1. Alright, two spark plugs for each coil tack for each cylinder over here.

Then on the left side of Bank 2, meaning the driver’s side cylinder numbers are 2 number 4, number 6, and number 8.

How 5.7 Hemi Firing Order Works?

Well, starting from the first cylinder that is the cylinder number 1 gets spark as soon as you start the engine. Then after that according to the firing order, cylinder number 8 on the opposite bank gets spark. And in this way, cylinder number 4, then 3, then 6, then 5, then 7 and finally cylinder number 2 on the bank 1 in the front gets spark.

This order repeats and combustion chamber gets ignition continuously to keep the engine running.

Also Read: How Many Camshafts Does A Hemi Have – An Expert Guidelines

However, if you are wondering about the 2010 5 7 Hemi firing order or the 2011 5 7 Hemi firing order, these two have the same order as we explained above.

This Video Will Help You Too!

Frequently Asked Question (FAQs)

Where Is Cylinder 1 on 5.7 Hemi?

Cylinder 1 on 5.7 Hemi is on the Bank 2. Bank 2 actually means it’s on the driver side.

What Is the Firing Order in a 5.7 Vortec?

1 8 4 3 6 5 7 2 is the engine firing order for Chevy/GMC/GM 5.7 350 Vortec engines.

Which Engine Cylinder Is Number 5 on a 5.7 Hemi?

The 3rd cylinder in the Bank 2 is Number 5 on 5.7 Hemi engine. As we mentioned before that Bank 2 is the driver side, meaning the right side.

Which Cylinders Are MDS?

During MDS activation, 1, 4, 6, and 7 cylinders are all shut down in order. The engine rotates for 180 degrees of engine rotation before one cylinder is disconnected from the power supply.

Final Words

Hopefully now you got to know the 5.7 Hemi firing order along with a diagram and explanation of how it works.

Hemi engines have been around for decades, but until recently, there’s a resurgence in the popularity of Hemi engines. So if you want to understand the basics of how a Hemi engine ignition works, then this was the post for you.

We hope you enjoyed it till the very last second. If you have any queries, feel free to contact us.

You Can Also Read:

Similar Posts